“Brilliant and clever people sit on the AFoI program development board.”

  • Greg Mackie OAM

    Founder and Chairman

    Greg Mackie was founder and is now Chairman of The Adelaide Festival of Ideas. Cutting his teeth as a cabaret musician and department store executive, Greg co-founded and was managing director of Adelaide’s iconic Imprints Booksellers (1984—2007). With a wealth of governance experience, incl...

    Read more
  • Heather L. Robinson

    Executive Producer, 2016 AFoI & Board Member

    Heather has over 20 years of curatorial, event and project development experience in the arts and cultural industries across Australia, in roles ranging with both the State Library and National Gallery of Victoria and the Perth International Arts. In 2013 she was Associate Director with The Adelaide...

    Read more
  • C J Burrell AO

    Emeritus Professor

    Chris Burrell was Professor of Virology at University of Adelaide 1986-2008, involved in basic research, medical diagnostic work, teaching and administration in the field of human virus infections. From 1985-2008 he was also Head of the Division of Medical Virology and later the Infectious Diseases ...

    Read more
  • Ian Gibbins

    Emeritus Professor

    Ian Gibbins retired in 2014 after 30 years as a neuroscientist including 20 years as Professor of Anatomy at Flinders University. He is internationally recognised for his research on the microscopic organisation of nerves connecting between the internal organs and the spinal cord. Ian is also a wide...

    Read more
  • Elizabeth Ho


    Elizabeth Ho OAM has held a number of senior positions in the public and higher education sectors and has considerable experience in community engagement, public program development, fundraising and sponsorship, strategic planning and multicultural policy application. As an Associate Director of the...

    Read more
  • Robert Phiddian

    English literature teacher

    Robert Phiddian teaches English literature at Flinders University. He joined the Adelaide Festival of Ideas  as a ‘youth representative’ on the first Advisory Board in 1998. As the youthfulness ebbed away, he took on other roles, most notably as Chair for the 2009, 2011, and 2013 festiv...

    Read more
  • John Williams


    John Williams is the Dean of Adelaide Law School, The University of Adelaide. He is the Dame Roma Mitchell Chair of Law, Deputy Executive Dean, Faculty of the Professions and Director, South Australian Law Reform Institute. John’s main research interest is public law and in particular Australian ...

    Read more